Rimington and Mackey Watch Lists are out: The Forgotten continue to rule

Admittedly, that headline is a little misleading. We all know that these postseason awards are mostly meant to high-five the most privileged of the game. But this is Watch List Season, baby! Just seeing a MAC or Sun Belt name sprinkled with the denizens of the establishment is reward enough, right? Right? No?

Anyway, two more Major Awards posted their Watch List candidates: John Mackey Award (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding tight end) and the Rimington Trophy (Presented to the nation’s premier center). We don’t care about the P5 nominees. Here, you will only find the Forgotten.

John Mackey Award

The Mackey was established in 2000 by the Nassau County Sports Commission because…they’re experts at the tight end position, I guess? Anyway, the last guy to win the Mackey Award was the too perfectly monikered Jake Butts out of Michigan. The last Forgotten to win it was NOBODY! That’s right. No winners. Maybe this year, you guys.

Jordan Akins, UCF

Julian Allen, Southern Miss

Alec Bloom Connecticut

Allen Breneman, Massachussetts

Tyler Conklin, Central Michigan

Donnie Ernsberger, Western Michigan

Francis Masseiah, South Alabama

Charles Jones, Tulane

Blake Mack, Arkansas State

Dax Raymond, Utah State

Jake Roh, Boise State

Gabe Schrade, Texas State

Ryan Smith, Miami (OH)

Metuisela Unga, Hawaii

Melvin Vaughn, Old Dominion

David Wells, San Diego State

Ari Wertz, Georgia State

Mitchell Wilcox, USF

Shaq Williams, UTSA

Shane Wimann, UTSA

Ryan Yurachek, Northern Illinois

The Group of Five represents a solid 38% of the Mackey List, unlike the Bednarik and Maxwell lists, which was comprised of less than 20% G5. Maybe year 17 is the charm?

The Rimington Award

The Rimington Trophy is selected by determining the consensus All-American center pick from four existing All-America Teams, and it’s been handed out to the beefiest center since 2000. The last lug to win this was Patrick Elflein out of Ohio State. The last Forgotten to win? Well, we never won it. Go figures.

Aaron Brewer, Texas State

Aaron Mitchell, Fresno State

Antonyo Woods, Florida Atlantic

Asotui Eli, Hawaii

Austin Doan, Central Michigan

Blaise Fountain, New Mexico

Bryce Holland, Army

Cameron Ruff, South Florida

Chandler Miller, Tulsa

Dakota Tallman, Eastern Michigan

Danny Godlevske, Miami (OH)

Dennis Edwards, WKU

Deontae Crumitie, Troy

Drew Kyser, Memphis

Evan Brown, SMU

Gabe Mobley, Georgia State

Garrett McGhin, East Carolina

Jake Bennett, Colorado State

Jake Pruehs, Ohio

James O’Hagan, Buffalo

John Keenoy, Western Michigan

Keoni Taylor, San Jose State

LaVonne Gauthney, Akron

Levi Brown, Marshall

Luke Shively, Northern Illinois

Mason Hampton, Boise State

Matt Hennessy, Temple

Nathan Puthoff, Kent State

Nick Clarke, Old Dominion

Sean Krepsz, Nevada

Tim McAullife, Bowling Green

Trey Martin, Rice

Will Noble, Houston

Give credit to the Rimington for thoroughness – 33 Forgotten centers make this list, half the freaking Group of Five. Daaaaaamn!

Next Up, July 12: Lou Groza Award (Presented to the nation’s top place-kicker) and the Ray Guy Award  (Presented to the college punter of the year)

It never ends.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s