Forgotten Watch List Season keeps kicking with Lou Groza and Ray Guy Awards!

Everybody loves college football kickers! Well, cool people do, anyway. Today, punts and kicks were recognized by two of the profession’s most trusted name in boots – The Lou Groza Award (presented to the nation’s top place-kicker) and the Ray Guy Award  (presented to the college punter of the year).

As is our sacred custom, we don’t care who’s nominated on the Power Five. They get enough ink! We concern ourselves with the plight and triumphs of the Forgotten. Let us commence to remember:

The Lou Groza Award

The Palm Beach Country Sports Commission (which, on the surface, sounds like a governing body for Jai Alai) has doled out the Groza since 1992. Last year’s winner: Zane Gonzalez of Arizona State. The last Forgotten to accept the trophy: the immortal Cairo Santos of Tulane in 2012.

Stevie Artigue, Louisiana

Jonathan Barnes, Louisiana Tech

John Baron II, San Diego State

Aaron Boumerhi, Temple

Bryce Crawford, San Jose State

Redford Jones, Tulsa

Kody Kroening, Fresno State

Canon Rooker, Middle Tennessee

Jason Sanders, New Mexico

Parker Shaunfield, Southern Miss

Skyler Simcox, WKU

Luke Strebel, Air Force

Matthew Wright, UCF

 Louie Zervos, Ohio

Of the thirty Groza nominees, 14 hail from the mighty Group of Five, which doesn’t have a bad history with the award – the G5 has brought it to the house four times.

The Ray Guy Award

Punting excellence is judged by the Augusta Sports Council since 2000, and nobody screws with those guys. Ever. The last guy to win a Guy: Mitch Wishnowsky of Utah. The last Forgotten to bag the hardware: Tom Hornsey of Memphis in 2013.

Derek Adams, Kent State

Matt Bonadies, Middle Tennessee

Bailey Cate, Old Dominion

Jake Collins, WKU

Joseph Davidson, Bowling Green

Jonathan Hernandez, USF

Logan Laurent, Massachusetts

Spencer Smith, Memphis

Only 8 G5 punters make a list of 29, but the Group of Excellence has a solid Ray Guy history, once enjoying a three year stretch of victories (2011-2013).

Next Up, July 13: The Bronko Nagurski Trophy (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding defensive player) and The Outland Trophy (Presented to the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman)

Big boys getting the props tomorrow, yo.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s